Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra: Autumn Symphony Season 2016

The Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra’s Autumn Symphony Season includes four symphony concerts at Cape Town City Hall.

The season begins on Thursday 28 April with conductor Conrad van Alphen leading the orchestra in Balakirev’s Symphonic Poem “Tamara” and Vaughan Williams’s Symphony No. 2 (“London Symphony”)Cellist Alexander Ramm is the soloist in Tchaikovsky’s Variations on a Rococo Theme.

Van Alphen is also the conductor on Thursday 5 May, with the orchestra performing Mozart’s Symphony No. 38 (“Prague Symphony”) and Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7. Violinist Nikita Boriso-Glebsky is the soloist in Vieuxtemps’s Violin Concerto No. 4.

On Thursday 12 May, conductor Arjan Tien takes over and leads the orchestra in Puccini’s Capriccio Sinfonico and Brahms’s Symphony No. 2. Pianist Melvyn Tan is the soloist in Mendelssohn’s Piano Concerto No. 1.

Tien returns as conductor for the final concert on Thursday 19 May, which includes Britten’s Passacaglia from Peter Grimes and Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3 (“Scottish Symphony”). Pianist Bryan Wallick is the soloist in Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2.

Book now at Computicket or go to